14-6A Champs: Cy Ranch – Varsity Wires

14-6A Champs: Cy Ranch

PHOTO: The Mustang Messenger

Cy Ranch Mustangs
Head Coach: Sean McAuliffe (1st season)
Lettermen R/L: 26/30
Starters O/D: 6/3
2018 Record: 11-1, 8-0
2019 Prediction: District Champions

Since the 2010 Expansion when Cy-Fair ISD added Cy Ranch and Cy Lakes to the varsity football ranks, only Cy-Fair has accumulated more wins than the Mustangs. All 77 of those victories came with Gene Johnson at the helm, who has since left for Waller. They picked up what many consider one of the best possible replacements in Sean McAuliffe, who turned Judson from a really good football team back into a perennial state power, with two trips to the state semifinals and three appearances in the Region IV title game in his five years at the helm.

McAuliffe also inherits a roster that hasn’t lost much of its offensive potency from a team that went 11-1 last year. 1,000-yard rusher Willie Eldridge and his 17 touchdowns are back, along with First Team All-District quarterback Logan McDougald. Running back Elias Pino, who registered 501 yards and eight touchdowns last season, has returned as well. The receiver core is headlined by Kobe Banks and Edwin Smith, while the 6’6″ tight end Drake Dabney can help in both the pass and run game. The defense will have some question marks with only three returning starters, but each spot has a reliable face returning; linebacker Christian Richards and cornerback Romario Noel highlight the back seven, and First Team All-District defensive end Logan Stiba will anchor the pass rush.

In short, despite the loss of Johnson, McAuliffe has a roster he can win and win now with. Who knows if it will translate to another 10-0 season, but barring something major, we think it’ll lead to another district title.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login